GSCA
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Georgia Strength Coaches Association

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Question for the experts

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage
2dawgs

Question for the experts Empty
PostSubject: Question for the experts   Question for the experts I_icon_minitimeFri Sep 04, 2009 11:34 am

Our class periods last 55 minutes. Rest between sets of core lifts is obviously important when it comes to gaining strength. We have to workout 3-4 to a station, so on average they get around 45 seconds of rest.My question is: in a class that is this short, do you sacrifice auxillary lifts in order to get that 2 minutes of rest, or do you keep the pace up? Thanks fellas.
Back to top Go down
ClayCHS

ClayCHS

PostSubject: Re: Question for the experts   Question for the experts I_icon_minitimeTue Sep 08, 2009 12:02 am

I am no expert, but I will throw in my two cents. I am on a hybrid schedule this year, 55 minute periods M, T and TH. I do one core lift and two accessories on these days for the most part. We have no more than 3 in a group. I feel like that is enough rest until we get up to our heavier sets, then I slow them down a little bit. We go on the whistle, so it is not hard for me to do so. I will usually take some extra time to throw out some reminders and cues and then get them going. The only thing I time is push ups, we go for a certain amount of time and if they burn out before that time is up, they must maintain good push up position for the remainder of the time. Hope this helps.
Back to top Go down
rlivingstone

PostSubject: Re: Question for the experts   Question for the experts I_icon_minitimeThu Oct 15, 2009 3:46 pm